Merkliste
Die Merkliste ist leer.
Wickelfisch

Walking

One Step at a Time
BuchGebunden
192 Seiten
Englisch
Verfügbare Formate
BuchGebunden
CHF19.50
BuchKartoniert, Paperback
CHF17.50
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
CHF10.00
The Norwegian explorer Erling Kagge presents a stirring and life-altering celebration of walking in the vein of Roger Deakin's "Waterlog" and Alain de Botton's "The Consolations Of Philosophy".
CHF19.50
in der Regel innert 2 Werktagen versandfertig oder abholbereit

Informationen

KlappentextThe Norwegian explorer Erling Kagge presents a stirring and life-altering celebration of walking in the vein of Roger Deakin's "Waterlog" and Alain de Botton's "The Consolations Of Philosophy".
ZusammenfassungAN ODE TO THE BEST REMEDY FOR BODY AND MIND FROM ONE OF THE WORLD'S LEADING EXPLORERS
____________________________________
'After having put my shoes on and let my thoughts wander, I am sure of one thing - to put one foot in front of the other is one of the most important things we do.'
____________________________________
'Erling Kagge is a philosophical adventurer - or perhaps an adventurous philosopher' New York Times
____________________________________
From the bestselling author of Silence comes an illuminating examination of the joy of walking.
From those perilous first steps as a toddler, to great expeditions, from walking to work to trekking to the North Pole, Erling Kagge explains that he who walks goes further and lives better.
Walking is a book about the love of exploration, the delight of discovery and the equilibrium that can be found in this most simple of activities.
____________________________________
'If you are a walker this book will resonate with you, if you have seldom or never walked this book should be compulsory reading' Rosamund Young
'A thought-proving and enjoyable book that revels in seeing the global in the local. Erling Kagge reveals new ways to view home and homo sapiens, and, as he travels leisurely, we grow slowly wiser' Tristan Gooley
'Part rumination, part walking coach and companion . . . and one that might just do more for your health and happiness than your treadmill alone ever could' New York Journal of Books
'Drawing on the experiences of Kagge's extraordinary life in wild places, this is a book of great concentration' Robert Macfarlane, on Silence
'A thoughtful book-length essay on a taken-for-granted human activity' Kirkus
'[Walking is] much more subtle than a typical self-help . . . Erling Kagge uses his acquaintance with extreme environments to reflect on the mental and physical benefits of walking' Economist
Details
ISBN978-0-241-35768-2
ProduktartBuch
Einbandart / SetinhaltGebunden
Verlag/Label
Erscheinungsjahr2019
Erscheinungsdatum15.04.2019
Seiten192 Seiten
SpracheEnglisch
Artikel-Nr.31812100

Inhalt/Kritik

KritikA thought-proving and enjoyable book that revels in seeing the global in the local. Erling Kagge reveals new ways to view home and homo sapiens, and, as he travels leisurely, we grow slowly wiser. Tristan Gooley, author of 'The Walker's Guide to Outdoor Clues and Signs'

Autor

Erling Kagge is an explorer who was the first in history to reach the 'three poles' - North, South and the summit of Everest. His first book, Silence, was published in 33 languages. He has since returned to Norway and searches for moments of silence amongst noisy family life and work as a writer and publisher.

Kürzlich von mir besucht